Thinking About Becoming Vegetarian? Here's A List of The Most Common Vegetarian Diets To Help Give Your Transition a Boost!

The Different Kinds of Vegetarians

Welcome to the green side, your body will thank you later. First off, you must know there are different kinds of vegetarians, depending on what they eat. Yep, there room for everyone. The definition of a vegetarian that’s most widely accepted by fellow vegetarians is a person who eats no meat, fish, or poultry. A vegetarian consistently avoids all flesh foods, as well as byproducts of meat, fish, and poultry.

Vegetarian

Happy Piggy

Of course, vegetarian diets vary in the extent to which they exclude animal products:

  • Semi-vegetarian: Someone who’s cutting back on his or her intake of meat, in general. A pollo vegetarian avoids red meat and fish but eats chicken. A pesco pollo vegetarian avoids red meat but eats chicken and fish.

    These terms stretch the true definition of a vegetarian, and only the term semi-vegetarian is actually used with much frequency.

  • Lacto ovo vegetarian: A lacto ovo vegetarian diet excludes meat, fish, and poultry but includes dairy products and eggs. Most vegetarians in the U.S., Canada, and Western Europe fall into this category. Lacto ovo vegetarians eat such foods as cheese, ice cream, yogurt, milk, and eggs, as well as foods made with these ingredients.

  • Lacto vegetarian: A lacto vegetarian diet excludes meat, fish, and poultry, as well as eggs and any foods containing eggs. A lacto vegetarian would, however, eat dairy products such as milk, yogurt, and cheese.

  • Vegan: Technically, the term vegan refers to more than just the diet alone. A vegan is a vegetarian who avoids eating or using all animal products, including meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products, any foods containing by-products of these ingredients, wool, silk, leather, and any nonfood items made with animal byproducts. Some vegans avoid honey.

  • Fruitarian: eat only fruits, seeds, nuts, and other plant components that can be gathered without harming the plant.
  • Flexitarians: mainly eat vegetarian food, but will occasionally make exceptions.

One adaptation of a vegetarian diet is a raw foods diet, in which adherents eat a diet that consists primarily of uncooked foods.

Good luck on your transition, your eighty year old self will look back and say, Wow what a wonderful thing I did for myself. Hang in there!

Katt Banks

There are 1 Comments

  • I’m already a vegetarian, and I’m still leaving meat off my plate.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *